Changing User Assignments in Therefore Workflows

Changing User Assignments in Therefore Workflows

Changing assigned users in Therefore tasks

This guide will provide instruction on how to change the users which workflow instances are assigned to in a Therefore workflow. There are multiple methods which are used to assign workflow tasks in Therefore; this document will cover the different methods which can be changed by a Therefore administrator.

Explicit user assignments

This first method is when the user is explicitly defined in the workflow task. Multiple users can be defined in the same workflow task so multiple users can access the same workflow instances.

  1. Open the Therefore Solution Designer and navigate to the "Workflows" section


  1. Expand this section and locate the workflow you wish the edit the user assignment tasks for


  1. This workflow will not be showing in the right-hand side pane.
  2. Locate the task you wish to edit and double click this
    1. In this example, we only have one task to edit


  1. Once the properties window has opened for this specific task, navigate to the "Assign to" tab


  1. Click the three dots next to the "Users/Groups"


  1. Search for the relevant user in the "Search for:" box and click "Find". This should then bring back the user you want
    1. For this demonstration, I searched for "Example" which brought back all of my example users. I will be adding "Example3"


  1. Double click the user you wish to add to the list and then click OK


  1. You will then see the user you added in the "User/Groups" section


  1. You can then click OK on this window
  2. To save the changes, click the save icon (floppy disc in the left corner)


  1. When prompted how you would like save this you may have the following options:
    1. Update Version
      1. This will update the workflow with the changes you have made
      2. The workflow will not be activated if the workflow is not currently active
      3. This will only apply to small changes to the workflow and will not create a new version
    2. Update and Activate
      1. This will update the workflow with the changes you have made
      2. This will also activate the workflow if this is not currently active
      3. This will only apply to small changes to the workflow and will not create a new version
    3. Save as new version
      1. This will save the changes as a new version of the workflow so you can go back to the previous version if needed
      2. The workflow will not be activated if the workflow is not currently active
    4. Save as new Version and Activate
      1. This will save the changes as a new version of the workflow so you can go back to the previous version if needed
      2. The workflow will be activated if the workflow is not currently active
  2. On this occasion, we will be selecting "Update Version"


The new user is now part of the workflow task along with the existing users. However if you would like to remove a user, follow the same steps up to the user search and then remove the relevant users from the box next to "Select".

Group assignments

This second method is when a group is defined in the workflow task. Multiple users can be defined in the same group so they can access the same workflow instances. This method will not require changes to workflow tasks, only the group in question.

  1. Follow the same steps in "Explicit user assignments" up until you are in the "Assign to" tab in the task


  1. In this example, you can see that the icon next to "ExampleGroup" is different to what it was with the specific user assignment; this is because users and groups have different icons to differentiate between the two in a list.
  2. To change the group assigned to this task, it is the same process as changing user assignments in the first section of this guide
  3. Any users in this specified group, will receive the workflow tasks at this stage

Changing the users in groups

  1. Open the Therefore Solution Designer and navigate to the "Groups" section


  1. Locate the group you wish to edit and then double click this
    1. Please note that we have censored certain groups in this list


  1. When you can see the users already in this group, click "Add..."


  1. From here, this is the same process of searching for the user and double clicking them to add them
  2. Once the changes have been made, click OK
  3. If you wish the remove specific users, you can highlight them in the list and click "Remove"


  1. This will then remove the selected user from the group



Please note that any changes made to workflows or groups in workflow tasks will only apply for new documents being filed into the system, existing documents will not be affected by this change.

If you require any assistance, please feel free to contact IT@Spectrum support at support@itspectrum.co.uk.


    • Related Articles

    • Adding Users to Groups In Therefore

      Adding users into Groups This guide will show you how to add users into specific groups in Therefore. The users will first need to be added into the domain group "Therefore Users" in order for them to be able to access Therefore. When the user is not ...
    • Changing Named User Assignments

      Changing Named User Assignments This guide will briefly show you how to change who the named Licenses are assigned to within Therefore. You will need access to the Therefore Solution Designer as an administrator in order to make the changes to these ...
    • Adding New Users to CWC

      Adding new users to CWC (Workspace Collaboration) This guide will instruct you through the process of adding new users into the Workspace Collaboration (CWC) Portal, using Azure AD. This system can also link with Therefore Online so the same login ...
    • Updating a Therefore > Sage DLL in a Workflow

      Updating the custom Sage DLL Over time, you may have Sage updated to a new major version for various reasons. However once this is updated, you may come across some issues the a customer DLL task in the Therefore workflow for posting data into Sage. ...
    • Clearing Errored Workflows

      Clearing Errors in Therefore Workflows This article will guide you through the process on how to clear errored instances in a Therefore workflow. Errored instances can occur when a process in the workflow runs into an issue or cannot route an ...